miércoles, febrero 27, 2013

Yolanda Arroyo Pizarro invitada a África para presentar 'Negras, Stories of Puerto Rican Slave Women'

The Organization of Women Writers of Africa (OWWA) and New York University (NYU), in collaboration with the Mbaasem Foundation, will present

Yari Yari Ntoaso: Continuing the Dialogue – An International Conference on

Literature by Women of African Ancestry.

This major conference will put writers, critics, and readers from across Africa, the USA, Europe, and the Caribbean in dialogue with each other in Accra, Ghana, May 16-19, 2013. The public can help support authors’ participation at

Yari Yari Ntoaso will consist of panels, readings, performances, and workshops, and will be devoted to the study, evaluation, and celebration of the creativity and diversity of women writers of African descent.

Yari means the future in the Kuranko language of Sierra Leone; Ntoaso means understanding and agreement in the Akan language of Ghana. Fifteen years after OWWA’s first major conference, 

Yari Yari Ntoaso continues the dialogue of previous Yari Yari gatherings, connecting writers, scholars, and readers.

Confirmed participants come from more than a dozen countries, and all have created important work and earned numerous honors. 

Participants have received national awards from Cuba, Puerto Rico, Sierra Leone, Trinidad and Tobago, England, Cote d’Ivoire, Senegal, the USA, and other countries. They have been poet laureates and are controversial bloggers. They teach at – and have received degrees from – the best universities in the world, and they have also created and work with grassroots community organizations.

Confirmed Participants for Yari Yari Ntoaso: Continuing the Dialogue

16-19 May 2013 in Accra, Ghana

Organized by OWWA, the Organization of Women Writers of Africa

Hosted by Mbaasem Foundation (Ghana)

Co-Sponsored by the New York University Institute of African-American Affairs & NYU-Accra


This list includes 35 confirmed participants representing 14 Countries.

Anne V. Adams – Scholar (USA)

Ama Ata Aidoo – Author & Playwright (Ghana)

Angela Davis – Scholar & Activist (USA)
Yolanda Arroyo Pizarro — Author, Blogger, Activist & Editor (Puerto Rico)

Sokhna Benga – Author & Poet (Senegal)

Carole Boyce Davies – Scholar (Trinidad & Tobago/USA)

Joanne Braxton – Playwright, Poet, & Scholar (USA)

Margaret Busby – Publisher & Editor (Ghana/UK)

Gabrielle Civil – Poet & Performance Artist (Haiti/USA)

Jayne Cortez – Poet (USA)

Latasha N. Nevada Diggs – Author & Vocalist (USA)

Camille Dungy – Poet & Editor (USA)

Alison Duke – Filmmaker (Canada)

Zetta Elliott – Young Adult Author & Scholar (Canada/USA)

Kadija George – Editor & Poet (UK/Sierra Leone)

Rashidah Ismaili – Author & Poet (Benin/USA)

Fatou Keita – Author (Cote d'Ivoire)

Jason King – Scholar (USA)

Rosamond S. King – Poet, Performer, & Scholar

Kinna Likimani – Literary Critic (Ghana)

Fungai Machirori – Activist & Poet (Zimbabwe)

Roshnie Moonsammy  - Literary Organizer (South Africa)

Nancy Morejon – Poet (Cuba)

Micere Mugo – Playwright & Author (Kenya)

Angelique Nixon – Scholar & Poet (Bahamas)

Wura-Natasha Ogunji – Performance Artist (Nigeria/USA)

Nnedi Okorafor – Author (Nigeria/USA)

Tess Onwueme – Author & Playwright (Nigeria/USA)

Pratibha Parmar – Filmmaker (Kenya/UK)

Hermine Pinson – Poet & Performer (USA, W&M)

Sapphire – Poet & Author (USA)

Lola Shoneyin – Author & Poet (Nigeria)

Eintou Pearl Springer  - Poet & Activist (Trinidad & Tobago)

Coumba Touré – Author (Mali)

Chris Winks – Scholar & Translator (USA)


These poets, novelists, playwrights, scholars, and filmmakers have been Poet Laureates of cities and countries; they have received honors such as The American Book Award, the OBE, the Oni Award (International Black Women’s Congress), the Wole Soyinka Prize, PEN Club awards; national awards in Cuba, Puerto Rico, Sierra Leone, Nigeria, and the Ivory Coast; and the Frameline Film Festival Lifetime Achievement Award.   They have received Guggenheim, NEA, and Fulbright Fellowships. In addition, our participants are teachers, professors, activists, and advocates, as the founders and executive directors of NGOs.  Help support the rich conversation this group will have with attendees at the first Yari Yari symposium to take place in Africa.

Yolanda Arroyo Pizarro (1970, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico). She is an award winning Puerto Rican writer. She was awarded recently with an Insituto de Cultura Puertorriqueña Literary Prize 2012 and also won the National Institute of Puerto Rican Literature Prize in 2008, the Woman Latino Writer Award Residency from National Hispanic Culture Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico in 2011 and the PEN Club Prize on 2010 and 2006. She is the author of Caparazones (2010), the first lesbian fiction novel written in Puerto Rico, published by Editorial Egales in Spain. She directed the Anthology Cachaperismos, the first Puerto Rican lesbian anthology in the island published in 2010 and participates in Seasons African Edition, a Periodic Journal of the International Centre for Women Playwrights in South Africa and Pirene's Fountain Japan Anthology 2011. Arroyo Pizarro was juror of the Sor Juana Literary Prize at FIL Guadalajara México 2012, the Second Puerto Rico Queer Film Festival and Premio Iberoamericano Las Americas. Arroyo Pizarro was the Director of Puerto Rican Writers Committee participating in the Puerto Rican Word Festival attended at Old San Juan and New York, and the Chief Editor of the literary magazine journal Revista Boreales. She has published several books in English, Spanish, French and Hungarian about Immigrants, Sexual Diversities and Afro Caribbean  themes. Her website: http://narrativadeyolanda.blogspot.com/

Buy in Amazon


No hay comentarios.:

Acerca de mí

Mi foto
"Odio los fluidos que se me salen del cuerpo cada veintiséis días." Yolanda Arroyo Pizarro (Guaynabo, 1970). Es novelista, cuentista y ensayista puertorriqueña. Fue elegida una de las escritoras latinoamericanas más importantes menores de 39 años del Bogotá39 convocado por la UNESCO, el Hay Festival y la Secretaría de Cultura de Bogotá por motivo de celebrar a Bogotá como Capital Mundial del libro 2007. Acaba de recibir Residency Grant Award 2011 del National Hispanic Cultural Center en Nuevo México. Es autora de los libros de cuentos, ‘Avalancha’ (2011), ‘Historias para morderte los labios’ (Finalista PEN Club 2010), y ‘Ojos de Luna’ (Segundo Premio Nacional 2008, Instituto de Literatura Puertorriqueña; Libro del Año 2007 Periódico El Nuevo Día), además de los libros de poesía ‘Medialengua’ (2010) y Perseidas (2011). Ha publicado las novelas ‘Los documentados’ (Finalista Premio PEN Club 2006) y Caparazones (2010, publicada en Puerto Rico y España).